The Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District Board is chaired by Chris Bertinshaw and seven Board Members who bring a wealth of experience and local knowledge to the management of our Local Health District.


Chris Bertinshaw

Chris Bertinshaw

Chris Bertinshaw has extensive experience growing organisations through collaborative team and Board relationships. He is the Board Chair of Relationships Australia (NSW) and an experienced company director and Chair with over 30 years’ experience in board environments. He was the CEO of a private health insurance fund, the Managing Director of a medical fraud prevention company and CEO of the Australian Spinal Cord Injury Network.

The Hon. David Campbell
MManagement, FAICD
David Campbell The Hon. David Campbell is the former Lord Mayor of Wollongong. He has been a figurehead for a number of high level government departments over the last 30 years. He has served as a NSW Cabinet Minister, has experience as a Member of The Budget Committee of Cabinet and the Infrastructure sub-committee and has been chairperson of a Superannuation Fund. Mr Campbell is an Honorary Fellow of The University of Wollongong and a former Director of The University of Wollongong Innovation Campus.
Janine Cullen OAM
Janine Cullen OAM Janine Cullen OAM, has over 20 years of varied Government and not-for-profit board experience. For more than 15 years, she has been actively involved with One Door Mental Health (formerly Schizophrenia Foundation) working closely with the staff to raise funds in the Illawarra. As immediate past President of Illawarra Business Chamber, she has represented business interests within the region, including extensive stakeholder engagement to foster economic and business reforms. In 2011 she was awarded the Order of Australia Medal for her outstanding contribution to Business and Regional Development.
Alan Hudson
BSc (Hons) Psychology, M Psych.

Alan Hudson


Alan Hudson is an experienced Business Psychologist, Executive Coach and Organisation Development specialist, holding postgraduate qualifications in Psychology from Sydney University. He has thirty years’ experience as a management consultant, organisation psychologist and educator, having assisted a range of organisations to strengthen workforce capability, drive individual and team performance and implement successful change. Mr Hudson has worked with Federal and State government, consulting, financial services, telecommunications, media and ICT, transport and manufacturing in Australia, China and the UK. He served as Chair of the Board of Mercy Catholic College in Chatswood and is on the Adjunct Faculty of the University of NSW School of Psychology. He currently consults at senior levels for both Federal and state agencies and the corporate sector, as well as providing private psychology services. Mr Hudson aims to bring his skills and experience in driving performance and team optimisation. 

Professor Bill Lovegrove AO
BA(Hons), PhD Psych 

Professor Bill Lovegrove


Professor Bill Lovegrove has extensive experience in the tertiary education sector, having held a number of senior university positions across the country, including as the University of Southern Queensland’s longest serving Vice-Chancellor. He is currently President of the Nan Tien Institute and Emeritus Professor at the University of Southern Queensland and the University of Wollongong, where he also supervises psychology students. He is Chair of the Graduate Careers Australia Board, Chair of the Open Colleges Education and Training Advisory Board and member of the Australian Psychological Society’s Academic Board. Professor Lovegrove has extensive skills in strategic planning, performance review, monitoring, team building and corporate culture. Prof Lovegrove received an Order of Australia on Australia Day 2017 for his service to leadership in the tertiary education sector, to developing academia in regional areas, and to cooperative research in a variety of fields.


Clinical Professor Rodney McMahon

Clinical Professor Rodney McMahon


Dr McMahon has worked as a General Practitioner in the Illawarra since 1979. He has been actively involved in the development of clinical training, particularly General Practice training, for the region and served a term of office as the first Director of Clinical Training for the Illawarra Area Health Service.  He has also been a member of the Personal and Professional Development Team at the University of Wollongong’s Graduate School of Medicine since its inception.

He is a past Chair of the NSW Faculty of the RACGP and is a past Director of the Illawarra Shoalhaven Medicare Local, having previously been a Director of the Illawarra Division of General Practice. Dr McMahon was also a Member of the AMA (NSW) Council for eight years,has been a member of the Professional Services Review Panel since 1998 and is a current Deputy Director. He was also a Director of the NSW Medical Board for a decade from 2006 and chaired its Performance Committee.


John Stubbs
BA, Dip(Acc), JP

John Stubbs


John Stubbs is an independent health management consultant with extensive experience in executive leadership roles within the health sector. Over the past 17 years, he has been instrumental in driving the national cancer and health agenda, particularly through his roles at Cancer Voices Australia, the Leukaemia Foundation Australia and as an advocate for cancer services. He is currently a member of the Cancer Institute NSW Board, NSW Health Consumers Association Board and Medical Services Advisory Committee – Economic Sub-Committee. Mr Stubbs is keen to contribute to the betterment of patient and health outcomes for the community, particularly in the Illawarra and Shoalhaven region where he now resides.


Dr Richard Morris AM. BM.

Dr Richard Morris

Dr Richard Morris is a highly experienced Anaesthetist and Intensivist. He is currently a Consultant in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) at Shoalhaven Hospital and a Clinical Advisor to NSW Ambulance. He was previously Director of the Department of Anaesthesia at St George Hospital. His extensive experience in senior medical roles also includes positions as acting Director of Medical Services, a Clinical Council member, and Medical Appointments Committee member. 

Mr Morris has great enthusiasm for using evidence to guide service development and promote safe healthcare.


The Board and Chief Executive are responsible for:

  • Improving local patient outcomes and responding to issues that arise throughout our Local Health District.
  • Monitoring the performance of our Local Health District against performance measures in the LHD Service Agreement.
  • Delivering services and performance standards within an agreed budget, based on annual strategic and operating plans. This forms the basis of our Local Health District Service Agreement.
  • Ensuring services are provided efficiently and accountably.
  • Production of Annual Reports that are subject to State financial accountability and audit frameworks.
  • Maintaining effective communication with local and State public health stakeholders.

You can view the Board Minutes

View ISLHD Governance documents, including the Governance Attestation Statement, Charter, Annual Reports, Performance Framework and Budget allocations.

Board members can access the secure website